Standing Committee Meeting November 12, 2019, 6:00 p.m. St. Mary's Episcopal Church, Dousman, WI

Attendees: Celia Fine, The Rev. Andy Jones, The Rev. Scott Leannah, The Rev. Gary Manning, Tammy Prather, Sheryl Slocum, The Rev. Jana Troutman Miller, Marcus White

6:10 p.m. Leannah provided a brief overview of the current work of the Standing Committee for our two new members, Jana Troutman Miller and Marcus White. Introductions followed.

Opening Prayer: Tammy Prather

Report on Diocesan Convention – Leannah, stated that the report he offered on our behalf appeared to be well-received and hopefully calmed some concerns; Fine agreed

Selection of SC President and Secretary – Scott Leannah unanimously elected as President, Sheryl Slocum unanimously elected as Secretary

The Bishop's request for gap insurance coverage – Leannah summarized past interactions with the Bishop regarding his request for gap insurance coverage and then distributed a letter the SC received yesterday from the Bishop. While gap insurance has not normally been given to retiring bishops in the Episcopal church, it is a fairly common practice for retiring CEOs. Elizabeth Orelup from Quarles & Brady clarified that gap insurance has been negotiated with retiring bishops in some dioceses. It was moved and seconded that the Standing Committee recommend that the diocese offer up to \$10,000 for individual gap insurance as part of Bishop Steven Miller's separation package. This is being recommended in recognition of the Bishop's long tenure in the diocese, but it should not be interpreted as precedent for future policy. Motion unanimously passed. Leannah will send a letter to Executive Council bullet pointing everything we've discussed so that EC can decide where the money will come from and how it will be distributed.

Selection of a Search Committee – It was decided to come up with a list of 12-15 names from the pool of volunteers, plus 2-5 more names as alternates. Prather will be the SC liaison to the Search Committee; she will be present at Search Committee meetings but will not vote. After discussion, the following people were selected:

The Rev. Matthew Buterbaugh
The Rev. Ian Burch
Bertram Ezenwa
The Rev. Nancy Hills
John Johnson
Daryl Laatsch
The Rev. Pedro Lara
Debra Martinez
The Rev. Dave Mowers
Bill Robison

Melissa Santa Cruz The Rev. Liz Tester Jan Watter Sally Williams

Alternates will be Jaime Cairo and The Rev. Don Fleischmann

The list of names for Search Committee members and alternates was moved, seconded, and unanimously approved. It was noted that the SC is grateful to all who put forward their names. Leannah will present the list of selectees to the Bishop. Then, Leannah and Jones will notify those who have been selected as well as those who have not been selected. Leannah will send the list of selectees to EC, stating that it is provisional until we are sure each selectee is able to commit to the January retreat as well as to the work they will be doing.

Hallisey is beginning to put together a rough timeline for the search process. She is also going to pull together a tentative budget. At the retreat, it will be emphasized that the Search Committee is working for the SC.

Leannah reported on his attendance at the Finance Committee meeting. The Bishop came to the meeting, also. Leannah simply gave the SC report and then left. During the transition process, it would be good for someone from SC to check in with FC every few months.

Discussion followed about the timeline for the election. This may be a good topic for the SC to consult Bishop Ousley about.

Leannah announced that next month on December 10 we'll interview 3 candidates. Also, since Leannah will be speaking with Hallisey that morning, he'll be able to report that conversation to us.

8:40 p.m. Closing Prayer – Sheryl Slocum